MSU Geosciences/Met. reception

J Daugherty

Enthusiast
Curious what the current professional feeling is towards Mississippi State's online Geosciences/meteorology program. I am considering pursuing the program. I have already gone to the effort to be admitted. I also have other non-meteorology options I am weighing. I am a degreed professional with a job in my field. I am very interested in the subject, have been for a long time, and see this as a way a 9-5 stiff could learn about the field while keeping my current job and location. Part of the reason I am going back to school is to challenge myself at this juncture, and I might pursue something interesting regardless of prospects, Weather I find very interesting. But at least one thing I am considering is whether each program I am looking at provides a potential career Plan B. Would this degree provide a legit career foothold if I wanted a change.

In terms of where I want to head, I wouldn't mind being a traditional meteorologist, or some sort of similar analyst. I am willing to, whether through MSU or otherwise, take any science/math classes left out of MSU's class structure. I'm not sure I want to be on TV or if it suits my skills. So at this time do traditional meteorologist employers (NWS etc) employ MSU grads, or is it more of a broadcaster thing? [If it's a broadcaster thing, I don't have much of a journalism background (one semester on the school paper) nor is it probably suited to me.] Do meteorology grad schools accept MSU grads? Would taking MSU's MS degree at the end help, or is that just more down the same street with the same limits? Would a MS elsewhere help? Would anyone hire a MSU grad with advanced degrees beyond that to be an academic teaching the subject?