Low CAPE tornadoes?

Sarah Berling

I'm fairly new to the meteorology scene, as far as academics go, though I've been interested in it for several years. My question, though, is: Is it possible to have a tornado on a weak CAPE day? On April 16 or 17, 2005, Albuquerque, NM had its first tornado in 20 years, an actual, bona fide tornado that touched down. But checking on the Skew-t for that day, the CAPE is minuscule: at max 200 J/kg. It might be me; I might have read the graph wrong, but in the case that I'm not, is there an explanation for this?

Sarah

I was in ABQ shortly after the event visiting my brother. The Sandia mountains are nestled up against the city to the east. According to him, the storm came over the mountain and produced the tornado near the airport shortly afterwards. This would suggest to me that in addition to orographic lifting aiding a very weak CAPE environment, topographic effects may have contributed by locally enhancing the storm-relative helicity, providing just enough turn in the low levels to spin up a brief tornado.

I have to wonder if CAPE really was that weak. Was this a 12Z sounding? If so, daytime heating would have had plenty of time to warm the boundary layer, most likely dramatically increasing CAPE values by the afternoon.