Looking for some cheap blue halogen lights

Mike Gauldin

Just wondering if anyone has a pair of blue halogen lights (to be hooked up to a wig-wag system). I've been looking on eBay, but I don't think I want to pay over $30+S&H for them. I'm thinking of just going to Wal-Mart and getting some of their $17/pair fog lights and put some cheap blue halogen H3 bulbs in them, but I thought I'd check here first.

I've seen chasers running headlight wigwags in OK before, are they legal in that state? I ask because they are illegal here in TX.

I'm not using them for chasing per say. I'm an EMT and about to join a volunteer fire department, so that's the reason for the blue. I have white strobes in my front turn signals, red strobes in the rear glass, and taillight flashers installed that I've used before on accident scenes I've come across and no one's ever bothered me (I rarely use them while driving). When I chase, I use an amber mini-lightbar.

For vollie use lights, you might check out elightbars.org. You can get some pretty sweet deals around there. If you don't see what you like, post what your wanting up, someone there will have it. I picked up a SWEET fully loaded MX7000 and strobes from a guy there $300.

Originally posted by David Drummond
For vollie use lights, you might check out elightbars.org. You can get some pretty sweet deals around there. If you don't see what you like, post what your wanting up, someone there will have it. I picked up a SWEET fully loaded MX7000 and strobes from a guy there $300.

Thanks for the link and WOW, that's really really cheap.

Yeah, it's a mix of folks there. Hobbiest, vollies, cops.....I've been tempted to pick up a few cheap MXs there and refurb them and sell them on eBay you can get them so cheap there. Those guys mostly buy that stuff at government auction for pennies on the dollar. I'd do that but I always forget when the auctions are going to be and never have the extra money when they have them.