Lightning

Ray Walker

Hey this will be my first year to shoot lightning and I need some help. I havent bought my camera that I will be using yet and I have no idea what to look at. Also could someone explain to me what exposing the film means and what the shutter speed means. lol I dont know anything about the cameras that take pictures at night or of lightning because I just dont see how someone is fast enought to click the image button and and fire off shots of lightning.

Another words, I have now idea were to start when it comes to shooting at night and lightning

Hi Ray. While I'm no expert on this for sure, I think this forum might be a better place to learn a lot on photography techniques that can sharpen your skills and give you some good pointers.

Try: http://www.photochimps.com/vb/
http://www.nwphotographers.net/
http://www.usa.canon.com/dlc/controller?act=HomePageAct

Otherwise, in a "quick as I can" response, I'll try on a few of your questions...

1. SHUTTER SPEED basically means, "how long you want the shutter to be open." This is a very elementary way of describing it, but think of it this way... the "shutter" is kind of like HOW LONG YOU WANT THE CAMERA'S EYE TO REMAIN OPEN. So, the longer you leave the camera's shutter open, the more motion you can capture, and thus, some of the pictures you've seen where it looks like people have managed to capture tons of lightning bolts all in one shot. Probably 99% of all lightning pictures are actually captured this way. Instead of trying to "catch" the lightning, one can just use a remote or a camera that will allow you to set the shutter to remain OPEN for 10, 30, 60 seconds, etc. and just let the lightning expose itself! It's quite easy, actually!