Laptop Question

I was wondering if I could get some pointers on mobile communication equipment. I recently bought a IBM ThinkPad T22, and need to know what type of PC card, data cables, etc I need to access the internet in the car. I use Nextel as a wireless service provider. Do I need to purchase equipment from them, or can I go buy the stuff at an electronics store? Obviously, this is my first time owning a laptop, so I'm sort of clueless on the internet aspect of things. Thanks

go online and get a wilson trucker antenna that fits your phone - but first contact your provider and make sure your phone supports data
or get an edge card (I dont like em - cant beat a kickass antenna)
better get going this process can take some time - plan on a week or two minimun

Thanks for the info. I spoke with Nextel today, they said I have to buy a data cable and software for the laptop in order to access the internet. From what I gathered, one end of the data cable hooks into the USB port, and the other goes into the phone and that's basically how the mobie modem works, which kind of didnt make any sense because I thought you have to hook something into the integrated modem, and insert some type of PC card. I'm just going to take the laptop into the Nextel store and have them show me what all needs to be done with it. The internet plan itself is rather pricey, $54 a month, but it comes with unlimited access and doesnt use your plan minutes. This should be interesting.

Ok good you have a data phone....
and letting them set it up on your laptop is the only way to go to get it handled because the software can be glitchy - and after they get you going you may find you want to get that Wilson trucker antenna which plugs into your phone too - because reception in the plains states is NOT like where you live - in fact its non exsistant at times....(so get a nowcaster back home for backup)
well keep us posted and good luck!