How do you like to build your Web site?

I was just curious about everybody's preferred method of Web site building.

I just code mine in HTML. Some years ago I took some classes in HTML writing at the graphics college where I work. There’s something kind of cool about HTML, about the simplicity of writing in it. Not sure why, but I kind of enjoy it. I’m a graphic designer by trade so maybe it’s the love of simple things.

When I was giving the site a facelift a couple years ago, I tried a site-building program. The code it wrote was complete spaghetti, a useless mess, and it caused the pages to have alignment problems as well. I never published them; I went back to hand coding vanilla HTML and never used a site-builder again.

I just did another major update for 2006. I spent the three-day MLK weekend working at my computer with almost no breaks, it was hard work but I enjoyed it. The HTML, caption writing, image sizing, uploading and file mgmt was extremely tedious and time consuming but that's ok.

Sometimes I’ll add new elements one brick at a time, and sometimes I’ll sit and work on the site for extended periods.

So for me, I just write and edit my entire site in HTML. I don't care for blinking things and a lot of the "extras", but that's just preference.

What do you guys do, Dreamweaver, Flash, PHP etc.? How do you guys like to build and maintain your sites?

I started out coding in HTML in 1995. It is easy to learn, and once you get the hang of it, you can usually build a site faster this way than most people can with a WYSIWYG editor like FrontPage or DreamWeaver.