Ham Radio

Joey Ketcham

For as long as I've been storm spotting and storm chasing, so far I've had great success calling in reports using my cell phone. However, I want to become licensed ham radio operator to be able to communicate with other spotters out in the field and to have better form of communication.

My thing is, I'm not very technical minded when it comes to things such as ham radio. I don't really know anything about radio transmission or really, anything about it.

So my question is, is there anyone else on here who is like me.. but was able to pass the technican exam?

How was it?

Also I notice ARRL has an online course at http://www.arrl.org/cce/Tech.html any opinions on this, is it worth the $$$?

Thanks!

Even if you have no techical abilities, or very little understanding of radio, the study guides/books, i feel, do a very good job of taking the "dummy" approach to teach you what you need to know. I had a pretty good understanding of electronics and radio propagation, but I came out with a whole lot more after studying for my test. In all honesty, if you aren't that concerned with learning that aspect of the hobby, by all means, dont. Someone else may disagree, but just learn enough to pass the test in that area, then forget about it if you want. I think the most important things to take away from the testing are the rules, the generic on the air conduct, and the band chart.

Can't say anything about the online course, but if I were you, I'd go pick up the book. There's alot of cool stuff in there, you can dog-ear the pages and use that book for refrence for the rest of your life.

On an interesting side note that i just realized, I got my ticket on october 26, 2000, so i've had my ham license longer than a drivers license! Ok, so i guess that's only interesting to me :D

-Ben
KC0JAR