Future Focus- How do I pursue my goals?

Oliver W

Enthusiast
Hello everyone, this is my first time making a "real" post here (or on any forum ever) so I'm a little nervous but that's alright.

Ever since I was 5, I have wanted to pursue a career in meteorology. I used to watch The Weather Channel for fun and I've spent countless hours watching Pecos Hank, Reed Timmer, Skip Talbot, and others of the sort on YouTube and have become fascinated with storms. I know that I want to take on a forecasting position one day. Working for the NWS or SPC is my absolute dream.

As a junior in high school, what steps do I need to be taking to achieve that goal? What can I be researching? Should I invest in anything? What should my college career look like? What should I be doing after college? Any and all advice is appreciated!

Hi Oliver -

There is nothing to be nervous about! I think your post is perfectly fine.

I can’t answer your question, because I am not a meteorologist. I am just responding to put your mind at ease, and also to tell you not to be discouraged if you don’t hear back right away, because (a) the forum in general is not as active in the winter as it is in spring and (b) although there are a lot of meteorologists here, I would venture to say that in my estimation they probably make up a relatively small percentage of forum members - I would guess somewhere around 35%-45%, but that’s just a guess…

Good luck!