DSLR Lenses - Focal Lengths for Chasing

I'm a Canon 300D owner and relatively new chaser, and I'm looking to purchase a new lens in the near future with chasing and weather photography in mind. Right now I only have the kit lens (18-55 mm f/3.5-5.6), which I'm very unhappy with, and a Sigma 70-300 mm that has served me well for the price.

Since I'm a broke college student, I'm not looking at anything above $500 really, and I'd prefer to keep it even less than that if possible. I think I've narrowed my search to two options: the Sigma 17-70 mm or Tokina 12-24 mm, which are both fairly affordable and have overwhelmingly good reviews and happy users on the photography sites I've visited.

Now I have to decide which focal length range is going to serve me better when I'm out on the Plains this spring, though. My initial inclination is to go for the Sigma, which would totally replace my kit lens and even add some range on both the wide and tele ends, plus it's cheaper. But on second thought, with the 1.6x crop factor of the consumer Canon models, perhaps the 12-18 mm range of the Tokina would come in quite handy in certain situations. Plus, my main interest outside of photographing storm chases is landscape photography.