• A friendly and periodic reminder of the rules we use for fostering high SNR and quality conversation and interaction at Stormtrack: Forum rules

P.S. - Nothing specific happened to prompt this message! No one is in trouble, there are no flame wars in effect, nor any inappropriate conversation ongoing. This is being posted sitewide as a casual refresher.

Drone Pilots Check In

Warren Faidley

Supporter
Thanks to Mark and the moderators for setting up this new sub-forum.

I know there are multiple drone pilots out there and thought we might want to open with a brief profile from everyone.

I've been flying drones going back to the original DJI products. They were a sponsor years ago and I tested several drones for them.

I'm a FAA licensed UAV pilot.

I currently fly a Mavic Air 2.

I have flown a few drones as a recreational pilot. Some day (maybe soon), I will obtain a Part 107 certification.

My most recent acquisition (as of yesterday which was spent getting things all set up, so, not much experience with it yet) is a Mavic 2 Zoom with a Smart Controller.

One of the big reasons I got into this was to help with the storm surveys that I assist with (of course, I probably legally need a Part 107 certification to do that officially) but I have never done much with that idea.

I'm in! I fly a Phantom 4 Pro V2 with a Spark for quickies. I have access to a DJI Matrice M210 with FLIR added on, and a Mavic Pro 2 as needed. I have a few storm pics but my main role is damage surveying.

Been wondering how the flights over damage areas are working? I know in CA they are designating almost any disaster (and fires of course) as immediate no fly zones. It does not sound like it's that strict in many of the Plains regions.