Code Use in HAM Radio

I'm just getting started, and will be writing my level 1 license exam in about three more weeks. I wonder how much of a stretch it would be for me to upgrade by the beginning of May?

Dang......Morse Code! :lol:

Originally posted by John Hudson
I'm just getting started, and will be writing my level 1 license exam in about three more weeks. I wonder how much of a stretch it would be for me to upgrade by the beginning of May?

Dang......Morse Code! :lol:

You're running on old info John. All licenses in Canada now include HF privledges. They have upped the scores though on the exams; I think you need at least 80% to pass. Check the RAC website for all the info you need.

I've always thought HF was a wasted resource that most chasers/hams never utilized like they could. Certainly interested myself.

Should anyone be concerned about learning the Morse code, I can't recommend Nu Morse enough as a learning tool. It can be found at http://www.nu-ware.com/

I used this software and learned the code very easily. It can even generate tests similar to what you will encounter during a real test. Can't tell you what a thrill it was to pass that exam, and no doubt Mu Morse played a large roll in helping me. BTW, I do not know the author, just plugging an outstanding product, and excellent support I might add. :!:

Hi John,

I just double-checked RAC website, and the basic qualification gets you privileges above 30 MHz only. I'll need morse to operate below that.

Looks like we're not going to be able to escape winter without a few days of deep-freeze. That's the Wicked Peg for ya!

Originally posted by John Hudson
I just double-checked RAC website, and the basic qualification gets you privileges above 30 MHz only. I'll need morse to operate below that.