Chasing Frequency Question

Mike Hollingshead

How much do you chase? Do you chase at all? Do you chase till your tires fall off? Just wonder who on here chases how much. Thought this might be interesting to see. Thanks.

This is my first year to actually chase. I chased 7 times. States were AR, OK and KS. Wanted to do more but work got in the way. I've changed my work schedule and now have a lot more time to chase.

So next year (and any opportunites before then) I will be out there.

I started chasing in 1999 in Minnesota, and my chasing 'frequency' has increased with each passing year. Since I have this stuff pretty much on my website, I figured I'd copy that table below:

Code:
Year   Tornadoes    TornDs  ChaseDs  Total Mileage  Miles / Tornado  

1999       5          1          3           1200              240 

2000       1          1          4           1500            1500 

2001       1          1          5           2000            2000 

2002       0          0          9           3200               -- 

2003       7          3         10           4700             671 

2004      22          7         12           6250             285 

TOTAL     36         13         43          18,850            525

TornDs = Tornado days
ChaseDs = Chase days

Code:
Year   Tornadoes    TornDs  ChaseDs  Total Mileage  T-Success Ratio  

1996       1          1          1           130         perfect

1997       5          3         21         7,106         1 in 7.0

1998       2          2         17         8,092         1 in 8.5

1999      18          7         21        11,535         1 in 3.0

2000       4          3         35        20,513         1 in 11.6

2001      13          9         31        18,638         1 in 3.4

2002       7          2         22        13,277         1 in 11.0

2003       6          2         13         5,393         1 in 6.5

2004      24          6         16         7,118         1 in 2.7