California weather (or the lack thereof)

Michael Herman

I am a resident of California (Groveland, to be exact, in the Sierra Nevadas just outside of Yosemite National Park) and find the weather here rather dull. Being born and raised in the midwest (Illinois, in the Chicago area), I miss the great summer lightning shows. Our rainy season is winter, where (believe it or not) it barely snows in my area. These hills make for interesting observations, though. There seem to be microclimates around every corner. In one area it could be snowing, another raining, and near my home the sun is peaking through the clouds. Meteorologists here seem to be excited at the sight of a raincloud... Very boring.
Has anyone else felt the weather in your area seem lifeless? Like Mother Nature passed you by? Or am I alone in Sunny California, where tornadoes are merely a dream...?

Hi Michael-
I used to live not too far from you (was born and raised in Turlock) and definitely know what you mean. The 4-6 months out of the year with hardly any rain or wind could be tough to take - although it some ways the long break was nice in that I could make plans without having to worry about missing an important weather event.

BTW tornadoes and supercells actually aren't too uncommon in CA - and you don't live too far from one of the most active areas for severe weather in the state. The east side of the Central Valley and adjacent foothills up to about the 1000 foot elevation get several episodes of severe weather each year. Here's a great site from SFSU with some info and pics on CA storms.....

http://tornado.sfsu.edu/geosciences/StormC...g/CAsevere.html