Another HAM question (equipment)

fplowman

Yaesu FT8800. Anyone use it? If so what are pros and cons if any? I found one for 349$ I think.. Wanting to know if this would be a good unit for a new Tech. Of course this will be used for chasing.

Fred

I use the sister radio -- FT-8900R. Nice radio, though I should have just gone with the 8800 since I'm a no-code tech and can't even use the 10m side. Oh well, it's a nice radio nonetheless.

Originally posted by Jeff Snyder
I use the sister radio -- FT-8900R. Nice radio, though I should have just gone with the 8800 since I'm a no-code tech and can't even use the 10m side. Oh well, it's a nice radio nonetheless.

Look at it another way, Now you have a good reason to upgrade Jeff!

Im ignorant and new to HAM. i realize that the 8800 is an upgrade to the 7800.. I have been reading on Eham reviews of both radios.

What would be the benefits of the 8800 over the 7800? and why do I need these extra features? Or not?? I seen the 7800 has lit buttons as opposed to the 8800 doesnt have lighted buttons which was a complaint by users.

Can anyone tell me the differences between the two?

Thanks for the input on the Icom model Dave. :D

The biggest difference it the dual-receive function. With the 8800, you can listen to two frequencies (e.g. 146.55 and 443.65mHz) at the same time. On the other hand, if I'm not mistaken, the 7800 only allows you to listen to one freq at any given time. I haven't used a single-receive radio like the 7800, but I do think the dual-receive of the 8000-series radios is very convenient. Sometimes I have my 8900 set to receive 146.55 and 162.xx (weather radio) concurrently, and other times I have it set to receive a Skywarn station + some other freq. Regardless, I don't think I'll ever buy a single-receive mobile given the convenience of a dual-receive.