an interesting (maybe stupid) question

Laura Good Buffalo

Yes, I'm a newbie, so bear with me....
I have noticed that often storms develop just west of us, and then consistently go either just north or just south of us,within 15mi either direction. anyone know what would cause this effect? :?

To be quite honest - chance.

There's no poof that rivers, streams, lakes, or buildings deter tornadoes or storms. Being as no mountains exist in NE, that covers any topographical anomolies. I'd say you've just been getting lucky (or unlucky, depending on your opinion :wink: )

To be quite honest - chance.

There's no poof that rivers, streams, lakes, or buildings deter tornadoes or storms. Being as no mountains exist in NE, that covers any topographical anomolies. I'd say you've just been getting lucky (or unlucky, depending on your opinion :wink: )

Unless you live in Norman Oklahoma......

I've heard some that have hypothesized the urban heat-island affect can slightly deflect storms, but do I believe it? Hell no! Tornadoes/storms propagate through the "atmosphere." Which means the "atmosphere" governs where the storms go - not concrete jungles...

Regards -

Well, the thing is that urban heat rises and alters the local atmosphere. In some cases, such as Atlanta, the heat island provides an area of improved lift in a generally moist summer environment, increasing frequency of airmass storms east of the city.

Here in Phoenix, the drier conditions create a heat island that's locally enhanced cap, effectively killing some--not all--storms that attempt to enter the city. Some storms that attempt to enter Phoenix off higher terrain to the E and N simply lose relative humidity to terrain and perish, but many are moving on the same altitudinal plane. These storms are often riding their outflow pool. When they reach the interior city, they peter out, but the outflow travels through the city and, when it emerges on the other side, generates new storms.