5/22/06 FCST: CO

I know I'm a novice at this stuff so bear with me. A lead shortwave looks to swing around the approaching larger upper level trough now over the western US. Dewpoints progged to be in the mid 50s with strong southeasterly winds beneath southwesterly upper flow (although fairly weak). Cape of 2,000 to 3,000 j/kg are forecast. Orographic/upslope lifting could be the magic that seems to light up the high plains along the Palmer divide from Colorado Springs towards Limon and northeast from there. NWS Denver office mentions possibility of a tornado in the HWO :) At this point, I'm desperate, so I'll be heading out just for the first really good prospect of big puffy towers in my area this season.

Monday is looking pretty good for eastern CO. :D
If the dewpoints rise high enough to lower the LCL's tomorrow afternoon, the strong southeasterly flow is enough to compensate for the factor of the weaker southwesterly flow and give a decent possibility of some tornadoes. As always, will be playing the DCVZ or any other surface boundaries for the best cells, as they tend to get rooted in that boundary and sometimes become prolific tornado producers ( take the May 10, 2004 Cedar Point cyclic supercell for example) So I'm going to see if I can shift those tests I was supposed to take tomorrow after school to Wednesday afternoon so I can chase tomorrow. Really hoping my parents clear it, because I have a good feeling about tomorrow and I don't want to miss out like I did two years ago, where I was 40 miles north of the storm, I could see it, I knew it was tornadic, but my mom didn't want to drive down there (this was when I was 14, before my license) so I missed out on it and was really pissed off about it. I'm not about to let THAT happen again. :angry: If I can go, my prelimary target is going to be Last Chance at 3 p.m., and I'll hang out at the Dairy King for however long it takes the convection to initiate and then follow the best looking storms from there.