32F / 0C

Dan Robinson

Above or below it makes all the difference! A couple of shots from this morning:

Snow line on Big Walker Mountain, Bland, VA:
snowline1.jpg

Those warning signs at all the bridges aren't lying! Classic example of an iced-over bridge in Beckley, WV after light snowfall:
icybridge1.jpg

Last edited by a moderator:
Cool pictures. There was also some snow shots from North Carolina on TWC (yours?). I always think a well defined snow line is interesting especially on low mountains. Several years ago, I saw a snow line that crossed midway along a road cut on Afton Mountain, Virginia. The road and nearby surface was clear and the snow line was about 20 higher on the nearby hill.

Bill Hark

Dan,

that 2nd image is amazing, thanks for sharing! I work as a superviser for road weather conditions for highways in my country and I've been looking for such images awhile ago. Really a great example that bridges or viaducts are much colder than other parts of the road.

Would it be possible that you post some more similar images if you have them?

Thanks,
Marko

Thanks Bill and Marko, it is really interesting sometimes to see the transitions when temperatures are hovering right around freezing. Once I dropped down to the Piedmont near Mount Airy, the snow quickly changed to rain. By the time I got to Raleigh it was in the mid 50s! There were some cool scenes in NC but unfortunately I didn't get to capture any from there.

Icy bridges by far are the biggest winter weather hazard because they contain the element of surprise. The rest of the roads are completely clear, so everyone is driving at full speed when they encounter the bridges. It is very easy to lose control at high speeds. Once the rest of the roads cool and become snow-covered, drivers tend to slow down and this lessens the danger from the bridges. Even worse is freezing rain (black ice), when the bridge will ice over but will look the same visually as the rest of the roads.