• A friendly and periodic reminder of the rules we use for fostering high SNR and quality conversation and interaction at Stormtrack: Forum rules

P.S. - Nothing specific happened to prompt this message! No one is in trouble, there are no flame wars in effect, nor any inappropriate conversation ongoing. This is being posted sitewide as a casual refresher.

2021-08-09 REPORTS: IL

I targeted Northeast IL this afternoon and evening for a few supercells and a tornado or two and was treated to an all out tornado fest. I lost count at the number of tornadoes I saw especially later on with multiple on the ground at once with supercells near Sycamore IL and Burlington IL. A solid 2+ hours of straight up tornado action and some were very photogenic, double digits perhaps, its possible. Here are some rough shots I put together before I head to bed. This is my 2nd best chase ever and I've been chasing storms since 2003, it almost even pushed Pilger out of the top spot. Each of these is a different tornado except of the close up of the "violent" looking stovepipe and the wedge, I included 2 different angles in there because of its "quality". Enjoy the show.

DSC05433.jpg

_DSC7656.jpg

_DSC7278.jpg

_DSC7731.jpg

Massive Wedge BW.jpg

_DSC8115.jpg

_DSC7884.jpg

_DSC7417.jpg

ORG__DSC8183.jpg

DSC05403.jpg

Edit (3am 8/10/21): Here is a link to some footage I shot of the tornado near Burlington, IL last afternoon. It looked rather significant with strong upward motion and eventually formed into a larger wedge. The second shot was from the eventual tornado S of Lily Lake, IL, but I think similarly the circulation as it was occluding was gradually weakening, so while it was a wedge at one point, I think it was more or less occluding as both dissipated fairly quickly after reaching max width. Probably also an owing to the lower LCL values near the warm front area yesterday afternoon (low 80s over mid 70s, quite sticky outside too).

Last edited: