1st Post: Severe Weather on Other Planets

Hi! :D

I've lurked on this board for a couple of weeks now, extremely fascinated by the chase reports, and various discussions on severe weather. I'm not a chaser, though. :oops: I'm just a person who's had a long-standing interest with extreme weather. When I was a little boy, I wanted to be a meteorologist, and I read up on all sorts of books. Violent weather, in particular, fascinated me.

I'm a writer, and am working on trying to get some stories published. Severe weather is still something that fascinates me. I have a couple of tornado videos. I also saw the movie TWISTER, which was laughable :puke: The ONLY tornado in that film that looked somewhat authentic was that F5.

One subject that has been catching my interest more and more is severe weather on other planets. Let's start with Jupiter-the largest planet in our solar system.

Jupiter's thunderstorms are perhaps the most violent thunderstorms in the solar system. They can reach 50 miles in height, and can grow to 2,500 miles wide. Lightning in these storms is 1,000 times more powerful than Earth's. It's too bad our technology wasn't advanced enough to create a probe with a camera that could be dropped in an area where these massive storms could be viewed from afar.

The rain from these ferocious storms evaporates as it gets into the hotter depths, and is circulated back into the atmosphere, creating a continuous cycle. A lot of convection has been detected at the poles as well.