What is this?

Earlier this year I was chasing in Illinois and saw this area of rotation but I'm not sure what to call it. I don't think it would be classified as a funnel but maybe as a rotating wall cloud? It had about 8 fingers hanging down and it was rotating (although weakly). Any insight? I'm new to chasing and am still trying to learn so I appreciate any comments anyone may have. (I have a box drawn on the photo to highlight the rotating area I'm talking about). Thanks :D .

http://community.webshots.com/photo/151004...151004976sAhKWy

It is very difficult to tell what it is... you would have to give us some more info. It's definately not a funnel and it looks too narrow to be a wall cloud... wall clouds are more round... that almost looks like a developing shelf cloud because there are some outflow characteristics in the clouds behind it.

Do you remember what type of thunderstorm it was? Linear, multicell or supercell?

Did you feel any outflow or inflow?

What direction are you facing in and where is the precip relative to that vantage point? What direction was the storm moving?

Carla - was the storm tor-warned? I pulled up a radar mosaic for that day (by the way - does anyone know where a person can get individual site radar archives now? - NIDS no longer seems to do the trick - I could only pull up a mosaic from the NCDC ... thanks).

The radar image taken at 5:00 p.m. on May 23rd shows widespread convection across Illinois - from the same system that produced a highly tornadic day further west in Nebraska the day before.

Here are the storm reports from Illinois that day:

http://www.spc.noaa.gov/climo/reports/040523_rpts.html

As you can see, there were several tornadoes across the state that day.