What are some of your hurricane chasing experiences?

Ithaca, NY (school); Melbourne, FL (permanent)
What are some of your memorable hurricane chasing (or surviving!) experiences?

Just to briefly introduce myself (since this is only my 1st actual post), I am an atmospheric science/meteorology student at Cornell University in Ithaca, New York. However, I grew up in Melbourne, Florida, so needless to say, my biggest interest is in hurricanes. And yes, this past season was absolutely crazy for my city as well as for those on this board who experienced the destruction first-hand.

Over the years, I remember the encounters with Tropical Storm Gordon (1994), Hurricane Bertha (1996 on I-95 in North Carolina), Hurricane Floyd and Irene (1999), Hurricane Frances and Jeanne (2004), and the numerous random tropical storms that did little damage between the major storms. I did not experience Frances and Jeanne first-hand, as I was up here in New York, but during those storms, I could not stop staring at the radar, satellite, METAR, and GFS, ETA, GFDL, UKMET data! With plenty of experience with tropical meteorology, I am now making it goal to do a lot more in terms of severe convective storms of the midwest.

Now back to the original question...

What are some of your experiences with hurricanes?

--Owen

(This is probably the question I get most from non-chasers behind "What station do you chase for?" and "What's the closest you've ever been to a tornado?")

The only hurricane I've chased so far was Ivan in September 2004. I rode out the storm in a parking garage in Mobile AL. Although the storm turned slightly NNE just before making landfall and the eye ended up passing 15 mi east of my location, I still saw winds in gusts to about 80 mph and measured the lowest pressure at 958 mb. Here is a full account of this chase.