Weather and Storm Chasing Book Project

Dave C

EF2
Hi all,

I'm contemplating writing a non fiction book on weather and / or chasing in a narrative, mostly non technical style. In non fiction as many of you know, a proposal is first prepared with a couple sample chapters, and the book is completed on contract with a publisher upon acceptance of the proposal. I am an experienced writer, but not published, so my challenge will be great. Before I dive in naively, I am researching the feasibility and wisdom of the endeavor.

I'd be extremely grateful for your thoughts on three simple questions:

1.) Do you consider these literature markets (weather and chasing books) saturated? A simple search at amazon yields hundreds of titles on weather or chasing.
2.) What are some of your favorite titles? (I own several books in the sub genre, including those published by other Stormtrack members, but knowing what others like could be useful)
3.) How do people feel about getting their storm photos published in a book?

I know I'm kind of imposing on your time by asking these questions, but I can't think of too many places with more knowledgeable people on this subject. Thanks in advance for anyone who responds.

D.

I think the market is saturated with books about WEATHER and to a lesser extent, CHASING....but there are few (if any) good books about CHASERS. The people behind the activity are fascinating and all have stories of their own. I've never been a fan of the "star" chaser autobiographies, as those are mostly geared towards the casual fan and I probably already know much of what those chasers share about themselves. But a book about chasers - as people - would very interesting IMO. You mentioned a "non-technical" approach, which is what caught my attention. Tech and drama and fabrication has been done to death. But sitting down with real chasers and just chewing the fat, anecdotal-type stuff would be awesome to me.