Thoughts on Experimental Models?

As a newbie, I'm curious about the track record of the experimental models out there. Are there some that appear to be more successful (and useful) than others? I realize that most models will be less accurate the farther out they forecast, but how do they perform as you get into Day One? I'd appreciate knowing how you throw them into the mix on chase day (or before).

Earl Barker's Experimental Products page is where I look at most of them. Are there other pages/sources for experimental products worth considering?

Also, I notice that there is an old and a new STP definition being used for separate STP models. Not sure how new the "new" Rich Thompson definition is, but I was curious as to whether there was any data on whether or not the new definition was outperforming the old one. There is definitely a difference between them on the model maps right now (check 48 hours out or so).

Hmmm. I _just_ realized that Rich Thompson of the SPC is a forum member!

As are Roger Edwards and Jon Racy (I believe), both SPC forecasters as well. Additionally, the parameters being questioned are not really experimental models, but just experimental parameters, whose components are from various models (RUC/NAM output). :)

At any rate, see "An Update to the Supercell Composite and Significant Tornado Parameters" from Thompson, Edwards, and Mead (2004) at http://www.spc.noaa.gov/publications/thomp...son/stp_scp.pdf . Rich has also addressed some of the changes in a current thread at http://www.stormtrack.org/forum/viewtopic....ighlight=#70128 . As far as statistics for STP and SCP, the only real numbers I've seen are in both the original publication on STP and SCP as well as the update linked to above. For other parameters, there are other threafds that include links to statistics/graphs evaluating the ability of various parameters (e.g. LCL, LFC, 0-3km CAPE, etc) to discriminate non-supercell, supercell, and tornadic supercell storms.