Telescopes

Ok, I have ZERO experience with telescopes, but I do know that I want one. What I am looking for is a backyard scope with something around 1000-1200mm focal length. Also, how can you get digital images through the scope? It just seems to me that the eyepiece would be entirely too small to push the lens up to. Like I said, I am brand new to this so if someone could point me in the right direction that'd be greatly appreciated. I'll worry about cost later on, I just need an idea of what I want. I have found many on ebay in that range of focal length, but they were almost all around $150. That just seems a little too "cheap". I'd imagine those weren't that great of quality, but I have no idea.

You will likely want to look at a "reflecting" telescope that uses a mirror for most of the magnification. Meade, Celestron and others make some really nice models and can be affordable. You can get a mounting ring that will accept some cameras for direct connection for photography, and there's also some manufacturer CCD solutions too although those tend to be very expensive.

Whatever you do stay away from the cheapo refractors. Save up for a reflecting telescope and you'll be glad you did.

Whatever you do stay away from the cheapo refractors. Save up for a reflecting telescope and you'll be glad you did.

Duly noted! Thanks for the help guys. I'm going to see what I can find on Ebay. It just really bothers me that some of these are so cheap ($150). I know you definitely get what you pay for in this field. I don't necessarily need something with optimum quality but I do want good results. Those prices just seem to be "too good to be true."

Try astromart.com ... I've bought several used scopes from people that have been awesome.

Remember that aperature - not magnification - is everything. The more light you let in, the more light reaches your eye and the better the image will be.