Taking Pictures of Lightning with Digital Camera

Karla Dorman

I have a small point and shoot digital (Kodak Easy Share 8.2 megapixel) camera, and am wondering what is the best way to take pictures of lightning. There is a tiny bit of a "time delay" between shutter click and capture.

Some of us can't afford "the big guns" (expensive cameras that allow you to hold a longer exposure).

I am grateful there is video capability, seems to be the only way I can really capture a bolt! *sigh* If I DO manage to capture one, it's off to the side, not centered. Grrrrrrrr ...

Is it a matter of trial and error then? The instruction book that came with the camera has nothing about longer exposures.

I'd LOVE to be able to capture some lightning like most of y'all have - I'm jealous! LOL Until I can figure out this "problem," I'll just enjoy your images. And pray one day I'll get some beautiful CG or anvil crawler stills.

Thanks for any help in advance.

I'm no expert, but I have been able to do it with some success. You will have to put the camera on 'manual' and adjust the camera's settings by yourself.

First of all, you will need a tripod. The tripod will keep the camera absolutely still. This will be necessary because you will need to have a long exposure/shutter speed set to 4-8 seconds. Maybe more - up to 10 or more seconds.

You may need to set the aperture between f/3.2 to f/6 next. Focus the field in which you want with the focus ring. You may also want to set the ISO/sensitivity to ISO 200. Flash should be turned 'off'. Most new cameras have a built-in zoom lens, so you will need to set it to the widest possible view that is possible with the camera. Anywhere from 10mm to 30mm focal length is possible. That is where you will want to do in order to get enough of the surroundings in the picture. Put the sky in the top 2/3 of the picture and set the ground in the bottom 1/3. Having a decent foreground subject will help the content of the photo.