• A friendly and periodic reminder of the rules we use for fostering high SNR and quality conversation and interaction at Stormtrack: Forum rules

P.S. - Nothing specific happened to prompt this message! No one is in trouble, there are no flame wars in effect, nor any inappropriate conversation ongoing. This is being posted sitewide as a casual refresher.

Storm chasers who have seen ball lightning?

Karl D. Stephan

Enthusiast
I am an electrical engineering professor with a research interest in ball lightning. For those unfamiliar with ball lightning, it is a glowing sphere usually under a foot in diameter that forms typically near thunderstorms (both outdoors and indoors sometimes), drifts around for a few seconds, and then vanishes or explodes. There is currently no good scientific understanding of it. People who chase storms should have a better than average chance of seeing ball lightning. If anyone reading this has seen ball lightning, here is my request: go to our ball lightning report website, https://tinyurl.com/BLReport, and fill out the questions there, and let us know that you heard about our site through Stormtrack. We are especially interested in any eyewitnessed photographs of something that might be ball lightning.

I claim there is no such distinct scientific entity as "ball lightning," especially in light of the complete lack of recent reports despite the increasing number of photographers and chasers over the past few decades, as well as the lack of accounts from prominent chasers and lightning researchers (many of whom have captured excellent high speed recordings over the past 10-20 years).

Along with never having seen any photo or video evidence of ball lightning, I find it peculiar that reports of ball lightning seemed to disappear after about the 1980s or so.