Standby Generators

Not exactly chasing, but storm related...

Anybody have a standby generator for the house? Not the pull start 2-5KW types, but the 10KW+ natural gas or propane powered types that are connected through the house breaker and start when the power goes out.

All it takes is a small garden variety non-severe t-storm to hit nearby and power goes out for anywhere from a half hour to ten hours.

We're looking at a 12KW Briggs and Stratton, propane, with a 120 gallon tank to fuel it.

Anybody have one? Thoughts or comments?

While I don't own one that big (mine is 6500 watts)I have worked on them, I was a small engine mechanic for 17 years before switching to computers.
I don't care for the propane as a fuel source for air cooled aluminum bore engines because the upper cylinders run too dry and the lifespan of the engine is reduced.
If it is a cast iron cylinder or sleeve then that problem all but goes away.
One MAJOR need while installing any standby generator is to use a transfer switch so the electricity doesn't back feed down the line and injure a worker or the general public because they think the line is dead.
If caution and good planning is used before installing then it is a great asset to have.