Spotters in the DFW (NTX) area?

KrissyHeishman

Enthusiast
I would like to get in touch with spotters out here, but I'm not sure where to begin at this point.

A little background..

My name's Krissy. I'm a mechanical/electrical engineering student full-time at UTA, and work as an assistant to a Research Engineer PT. I have a passion for weather systems and the mechanics driving them, as well for the technology used to track and document them. I also have a small background in broadcasting so streaming peaks my interests as well.

I would love to find a group of people locally to chat with and/or go chasing with. I have a few projects I am working on as well for trackers, and would love to talk about them or get some input on them from active trackers. I also have a passion for education and STEM awareness, so if anyone wants to get together and do things with/for local schools that would be great too!

Currently, I am a SKYWARN spotter, licensed ham radio operator and will hopefully be a member of the Tarrant County RACES after their next meeting/training date this month.

So ya... Hello everyone!!! :D

Totally off topic, more of a random question here. I've recently decided to actually throw a few reports out to the NWS in Ft Worth but none actually ever showed up. I was rather amused to why they wouldn't be in their log. What gives? Not like I'm some new random guy. Was a Meteorology major at A&M until the math got to me, one of the original Stormtrack members from the early 90's, been doing this all my life (just not submitting reports) Seems sort of pointless to report to them in the upcoming severe weather season.

I would suggest contacting a local area skywarn group. You don't have to be a ham radio op. to join but it sure helps. The code requirement has been dropped and the test is really easy.