Software wishlist! If you could help design a weather application (mobile or desktop), what would you want to see in it?

Garrett Weaver

Enthusiast
Hey y'all! My name is Garrett. Professionally, I am a programmer, but I have been chasing/spotting storms for years, and have impassioned with the field of meteorology for as long as I can remember.

I have lots of motivation for wanting to make a good weather app, but I am also wanting to make something that would actually be useful to you as weather enthusiasts/professionals, without reinventing something that is already done well. I know what I want and use, but I am curious what as to what you'd like to use!

So if there are things that you wished were available, or wish was done better, I'd love to hear about it! If anything, it would be interesting to talk about what your thoughts are on the current set of apps available (RadarScope, GRLevelX, AWIPS)

A one stop shop for chase day of models, satellite, radar, mapping and tracking. My ultimate site or app would have roughly 50 different model loops that load quickly like Tornado Target. It would have GOES satellite. A must would be a fully functional radar like Radar Scope too. The mapping would include an option for you to save offline maps for when you lose signal. A built in route tracker would have to be there too, if only just for fun. All of this would include your current position on everything to make it more useful and functional.
As long as this is a dream, you would also get paid to use it. If that doesn’t work, being reasonably priced would be good too.