NEXRAD GR Level 3 help me understand elements

fplowman

First off..

I realize this is a tall order..
But i feel it will benefit many of us including myself.
I rely on weather radio, internet and others to forecast for me so that i can set up on my storms correctly.. this site has been very helpful and i wouldnt have been able to attain the success i have without learning and nowcasting from this site.

I have used the interwarn software last year and i think I may consider using GRlevel3 this year.. I mostly use the reflectivity to determine storms postitioning etc.. i realize that the height of storm etc plays roles in the determined severity. as the interwarn would give alarms.. while listening to weather radio my uneducated mind would attempt to put the info together with the data given in interwarn stormlab with what the NWS radio is disseminating.. Make sense?

I know to some of you this is probably easy stuff but Im still learning..

Can someone or a few of you please take the time to break down the different elements in this software and explain the levels I need to look for? Again I relaize this is a tall order that might take some thought but I am sure more than just I would benefit from it.

Im not sure really what Im asking but if someone could break down the elements that the software outlines and elaborate on each one in laymans terms to use as a guide..

Storm attributes..
Base reflectivity
Base velocity
Storm relative velocity
Composite reflectivity
echo tops
VIL
DBZ
Hail POSH? POH?

I understand some of this.. But if someone could maybe give a crash course for a Noob .. im not afraid to admit or ask...