My annual call for SKYWARN Video

Another year gone by. This time a storm season with a shaky start but a strong and interesting season in the end.

Each year I make my annual call for video on the WX-CHASE group and here on Stormtrack looking for new video (new at least new to me) to present in SKYWARN training classes. A couple of weeks ago I had an off-list conversation with a long-time WX-CHASE member who questioned why spotters need to see new video each year when there is already so much video out there. My basic answers were 1) to keep the classes interesting/fresh, 2) to illustrate new findings and/or significant case studies, and 3) because the quality of the video just keeps getting better and better.

For those of you that don't know, I have been teaching free SKYWARN classes for more than 20 years now. Sometimes by myself but more often in conjunction with other very noteworthy speakers at large venue appearances. My classes are designed to be entertaining and informative and although I cover certain "mandatory" topics every year I'm always interested in summarizing interesting recent events. Video is the key to making this happen as I try to avoid graphics or static images.

Some have suggested that I paint all chasers in a bad light. This is not true. I paint bad behavior in a bad light --whether it's chasers, spotters, emergency managers, or the general public. Because my talks are *my* talks I'm free to speak my mind --unrestrained by government or employer restrictions. Most people I speak with enjoy my perspective but there are some whom take offense to it. Sorry. My goal is to make spotters safe, accurate, and vested in the reporting process.