mobile mesonet questions

I am very new at this and I have a few questions. How do you build a mobile mesonet? I have been looking at all of the other websites that you have here but I am still not sure about it. What kind of weather station do you buy? I noticed that jketcham got a WM918 Wx Station. Is this a good one to buy. Also what do you do with all of the wires? I looked at some of the wireless weather stations but they were very expensive. I have a Dodge Grand caravan. (year 2002, I think) Also, what are all of the supplies that you need? Thanks for your help! :oops: :?:

Do a search on "mobile mesonet"

Simply search for mobile mesonet.

Davis Weather Instruments seem to be a favorite for most people. It's reliable, easily converted and reasonably priced for different systems.

The same goes for Oregon Scientific Instruments. They are somewhat lower in price, but I haven't heard much bad about them. Just a little different in how the data comes through.

At the upper end of the spectrum are the RM Young Scientific INstruments. These are the types that NOAA used on their MM and we see on the Oklahoma Mesonet Stations dotting the landscape. Very accurate, and very, very expensive.

Another company comes to mind is PEET Bros. They seem to have an actracively priced weather station, but I don't know anything about them. There's another company out there that does some custom stuff and is at the higher end of the "consumer grade" equipment, but I can't think of their name right now.

As far as putting one together, there are lots of ways to do it. Wireless seems to be about the best way so you tear up your vehicle stringing wires around. Since I have a fairly beat up pickup and I'm not too worried about how silly it looks, I went with a cabled Davis Weather Monitor II. I believe there may be a wireless version of this, but you will pay more for it.