Miniature PC and their potential use in storm chasing.

adlyons

EF2
Technology is in a constant state of change. Every year, I see new gadgets being used in the field. But at the same time, I see some of the old reliable work horses still chugging away. The old methods have their problems, but work well enough that we keep them around. I'm a huge tech nerd and one of my passions is finding new obscure technology and figuring out ways in which these devices can be used for storm chasing. Recently I learned the hard way that lugging around big powerful laptops along with all my other gear on chases can be messy. I dropped and broke my machine while getting out of the car. Frustrated, I figured there had to be a better solution than the old bulky laptop mounts and big laptops of 2010. One of my recent discoveries is the existence of HDMI stick PCs. http://liliputing.com/wp-content/uploads/2012/11/t21_01.jpg. These marvels of modern computer engineering are in essence, miniature computers the size of a flash drive built with mobile phone processors and SOCs. (Systems on a chip). They plug into the HDMI port of a monitor and turn it into a device capable of using the Android operating system. If your monitor happens to be a touch screen, even better. You now have a fully functional android tablet for cheap. Combine that with apps such as Pykle3 radar or Radar Scope and you have a perfect solution for a vehicle mounted PC. They are cheap, powerful and dont require the juice that conventional laptops need. Stowe it under your dash and your car is good to go for chases in a matter of seconds. If you dont like any of the android solutions, or are wanting something more powerful the technology is in it's infancy and companies are already starting to come up with better designs.