Lightning detector For DSLR

Anonymous

Anyone know of any good lightning detectors for a DSLR? I've heard of them a bit but can't seem to find any... :oops:
Thanks for any help on this! Also, I know there's a lot of great lightning photographers in here from AZ. Would any of them be interested in making some extra $$$ by teaching me more about photo tricks, etc. I'm a big time rookie when it comes to pictures, etc and can't seem to get the hang of it. Just throwing it out there...

This is probably one of the better ones. http://www.lightningtrigger.com/

It's pretty pricey though. At $329 (not including the cable for your camera) it's not worth it for me. I know you can build one cheaper.

I bought one off of e-bay a while back and tried it a few times. Never could get it work quite right. It's picks up just about any flash of light. It works better as a remote trigger than a lightning trigger.

If you have the Canon 300D you can set it up to snap a series of pictures in a row.. not sure off the top of my head how to set it.. but I just set mine to that and when lightning becomes active I press the shutter.

For daytime lightning, things are a little tough. Although is certainly feasable. Susan Strom may be able to give a few tips on Daylight Lightning photography.

For night time, it's pretty much a metter of having the camera pointed in the right direction and having the correct shutter speed to avoid long exposure noise. I generally have the shutter open about 5 to 30 seconds with an ISO of 400 (I use ISO 100 a lot as well, but it's tougher). I'm at 28mm on the lens and generally have the aperture open to about f5.6 to f11.

I'm using a Canon 10D.

For evening and daylight stuff, I will use Nuetral Density Filters to let me slow the shutter speep. Just remember that any movement will be picked up on the slower shutter speeds. If you have a tree in the foreground and the wind is blowing, this will blur the tree some at 1/30 second shots.