Internet access for non USA residents

Hi guys,

I will be in the States for whole May this year and since I am not going to buy BaronWx software at my first time there (too expensive), I will be probably accessing the internet through cingular phone.

If I want to use USA networks for GPRS (with who our mobile networks have contracts for roaming) then the price is of course pretty expensive. The solution would be getting just a SIM card for a cingular phone which would be for States, so the prices wolud be much lower for such access. Here in Slovenia we can get a SIM card no matter or I have a subscription with the provider or not, also I can get it if I weren't a resident of Slovenia.

Now I have some problems, am I able to buy it as a non-USA resident or do I have to get a "help" from an USA resident?
Are there any other options to get an access? I definatelly need an access on the road! In the cities I can get access through wifi hot spots.

Any kind of help, links or anything would be much appreciated! Thanks!

Best regards,

Marko,

I'm afraid you'll find that it will be nearly impossible to do this without having someone in the US set it up for you.

You CAN get a SIM card for your phone, you CAN get pre-paid service that will allow you to make and receive phone calls, but these plans normally don't include much in the way of data. Cingular does have something called "MediaNet" on pre-paid, but it appears that this is only a "portal" to some selected online services and wouldn't be suitable. Here's some links for Cingulars "Pay-as-you-go" terms and MediaNet terms:
http://onlinestorez.cingular.com/cell-phon...anterms=prepaid
http://cingular.com/media/terms

You must have an unlocked GSM phone to use a different SIM card (it sounds like you do); you will likely also need to ensure that your phone includes the 850 MHz band or you'll get spotty coverage.