IDENTIFYING SHORTWAVES ON SATELLITE IMAGERY

So, I've been forecasting for many years, but one of my downfalls/weaknesses is identifying features on satellite pertaining to severe weather. Using this link below which is my favorite satellite site along with the COD site, can any of you help me identify which particular satellite to use, and how to best identify shortwaves and other various features for severe weather? Thank you in advance to anyone who's willing to help out. If you have a better satellite page that you like, please include that if you want!

GOES IMAGE VIEWER: Southern Rockies

Hi Jason, I think there was an excellent discussion about this on ST back in 2008.

I know the one that produced my Twister image back in 1994 was seen as a very brief, faint line of clouds for one satellite image frame heading towards the Texas Panhandle by a sharp-eyed met. in Topeka who made a note in his discussion, keeping me there.

Yeah @Warren Faidley ... that link was more on finding them on maps which I know how to do. I was just wondering if anyone could point me in the right direction on how to find shortwaves with the satellite link I posted. I'm guessing the mid and upper level water vapor imagery, but not positive.

@Warren Faidley...I do want to thank you for pointing out that link. I scrolled down and found that post from Robert Prentice talking about the 700-400mb differential vorticity advection on the SPC mesoscale analysis page. I guess I can look at this graphic every day and find the highest blue contours, then look at mid and upper level water vapor imagery and see what the interest area looks like. Since retirement, I have a lot of time on my hands! Getting ready for those sneak attack days and secondary target areas!