I am new to HAM radio. What is the best setup for me?

I recently got my Ham radio license. I was wondering what a good equipment set up for me would be? I am looking for something that is simple to use but will still be useful to me when I become more experienced. Any suggestions?

All you really need is a single band radio, a good 2m. Good brands are of course Yaesu, Icom, and Kenwood (among others)...however, a dual band (2m/70cm) would be ideal, just for versatility. Prices have really come down, so getting a good quality dual-band you like shouldn't be too difficult. I know a lot of people (including some in the chat), who have dual-band mobile setups...hopefully they'd like to share.

I have a Yasesu FT-8900R quad-band radio and Comet UHV-4 quad-band antenna, and the reception is really good. Though I've hardly used it for talking, it's a nice radio. Probably best to listen to more experienced hams on this matter, but I highly recommend at least a dual-band.

edit: Some links...

www.eham.net - absolutely fantabulous site for reviews.

Some well-known dual-bands:

Icom IC-208H - $309

Icom IC-2720H - $379

Kenwood TM-D700A $479*

Kenwood TM-G707A - $269

Yaesu FT-7800R - $239*

Yaesu FT-8800R - $369*

edit2: Some previous ST threads...

Mobile 2m antenna mounts

What do you use for a radio?

The best way to learn about what may be the best set up for you is to ralk to other hams. You can get involved in local radio clubs or just contact other hams in your area via the local nets. Another way to actually look at different types of radios (other than visit a store which may only carry a limited number of makes and models) is to go to 'hamfests' in your area. Local hams can let you know where and when they are held. You can also find some of the hamfests through www.arrl.org/hamfests.html or the QRZ.com site http://www.qrz.com/ib-bin/ikonboard.cgi?;act=SF;f=6

Good luck and welcome to ham radio.