• A friendly and periodic reminder of the rules we use for fostering high SNR and quality conversation and interaction at Stormtrack: Forum rules

P.S. - Nothing specific happened to prompt this message! No one is in trouble, there are no flame wars in effect, nor any inappropriate conversation ongoing. This is being posted sitewide as a casual refresher.

Getting Started In Weather Photography.. Where To Begin?

The title is pretty self-explanatory. I'm a sophmore Atmospheric Science student in North Alabama, and I had an opportunity to go on my first chase trip wirh some older meteorology friends this May! It was, to be frank, life changing. I got to experience many phenomena out there, including my first tornado and my first time seeing an LP supercell.

However, when I was out there, I noticed the vastly superior image quality that one of my friends had with his DSLR compared to my phone, and I became very interested in watching his technique when setting up his shots. So, with that said, I've decided I want to start saving up my money until I can get an entry-level DSLR of my own. What are some of the recommendations you more experienced sky photographers have with weather? How did you get introduced, and what did your first entry-level camera cost? I'm open to any and all suggestions!

There are several threads in the Equipment section that may help you make a decision in addition to whatever is said here.

I had always been interested in photography and photographing weather. I had several simple point-and-shoots, but once I saw what you could do with a DSLR in terms of taking pictures of lightning and the night sky, I was hooked. Being able to take beautiful, crisp pictures of lightning was probably my main reason for purchasing a DSLR.