Enhanced Fujita scale confusion

Tim Shane

Hey guys,

It's my first post here. I'd just briefly like some input from the experts with respect to a question I have about the EF scale. I'm not a professional met, but it seems looking at some damage photos from EF-3 rated tornadoes, the damage *looks* like EF-4 or EF-5 to my untrained eye. Here are some examples

From the recent Jackson, MS tornado:
http://www.srh.noaa.gov/images/jan/Weather_Events/2011/0415severe/hinds/100_1165.JPG

From the 2005 Stoughton, WI tornado
http://www.solarnavigator.net/geogr..._Stoughton_roof_brick_building_demolished.jpg

Now, obviously, if trained professionals agree that these are not EF-5, I will defer to their expertise. But why not? To my eye, these houses both appear to be solid brick. The first one is wiped clean of its foundation, the second one is completely flattened (EF-5 and EF-4, respectively).

Last edited by a moderator:
Agreed the damage in the first link *looks* higher than EF3.

As for Stoughton, which actually took place in 2005 and was rated under the original Fujita scale, most of the "brick" houses were actually brick veneer (the bricks did not provide any structural support). It was still a very intense tornado, especially by Wisconsin standards, and an F4 rating was considered.

I would be surprised if we DIDN'T see at least one EF4 when all the surveys are done and reviewed for the April 15-16 event.

Somewhere I heard that local WFO survey teams cannot independently assign a violent category rating, and must wait for the damage to be surveyed and the rating validated by a NOAA "Quick Response Team."

Somewhere I heard that local WFO survey teams cannot independently assign a violent category rating, and must wait for the damage to be surveyed and the rating validated by a NOAA "Quick Response Team."