CB guys come in over *beep*

okay i am new to the CB game (like BRAND NEW)

i am running a galaxy dx66v and a 102" steel whip. i had a friend sell it to me with a good mic too all as a bundle for $90 ... any way i go it so when i am out chasing if i lose cell signal i still have a way of calling for help or warning people. plus i like to go off roading and it will get used there too. so ... there a bunch of buttons and knobs and dials ... i guess i need some help figuring this thing out ... when i took it over to a friend to have him test it (its one of his hobbies) he got some one from orange county california to respond and i was shocked ... cause we are in central okc. so what are some pointers yall can give me?

i have picked a handle/ call sign of "zooguy350"

okay i am new to the CB game (like BRAND NEW)

i am running a galaxy dx66v and a 102" steel whip. i had a friend sell it to me with a good mic too all as a bundle for $90 ... any way i go it so when i am out chasing if i lose cell signal i still have a way of calling for help or warning people. plus i like to go off roading and it will get used there too. so ... there a bunch of buttons and knobs and dials ... i guess i need some help figuring this thing out ... when i took it over to a friend to have him test it (its one of his hobbies) he got some one from orange county california to respond and i was shocked ... cause we are in central okc. so what are some pointers yall can give me?

i have picked a handle/ call sign of "zooguy350"

The range for CB radio's is generally just a few miles, so if you're in Oklahoma you aren't going to be talking to someone who is physically in California. They might be from California, but if you're talking to them then it's because they're passing through Oklahoma.