Canon 5D

What? Why so expensive, how can is possibly be better, that say...a Digital Rebel...or D70?

Probably because it's almost a 13 megapixel camera.

and it has a sensor nearly teh size of a 35mm slide. that makes the FOV with teh 5D nearly equal to the FOV of a film SLR with the same given lense.

I see this as something to drive the cost of the 20D down

Originally posted by Andrew Khan
Well, all I can say is, it better take flawless images/pictures for the pricetag!

Hardly. It'll take pictures that are no better than a $600 point-n-shoot if you odn't know how to use it. So will nearly every other dSLR.

Hah, well isn't that quite the truth, being told? I have had some bad experiences with DSLR's. I've found that it isn't just MP's that make a difference, but also, the glass, sensor, mirror, and other various factors....not everything revolves around mega pixels. You know, I saw either a Canon or Minolta, that has a HUGE 16.5 mega pixels on it, but it's in the thousands...I can't remember where I saw it, but it was somewhere. Do you guys have any ideas why Leica's are so expensive?

Because when it comes to pro-quality glass, Leica is basically the standard. They have been making glass for a very long time and the results totally blow away Canon L/Nikkor ED glass. As you mentioned, they are expensive but you get what you pay for.

Originally posted by Andrew Khan
Hah, well isn't that quite the truth, being told? I have had some bad experiences with DSLR's. I've found that it isn't just MP's that make a difference, but also, the glass, sensor, mirror, and other various factors....not everything revolves around mega pixels. You know, I saw either a Canon or Minolta, that has a HUGE 16.5 mega pixels on it, but it's in the thousands...I can't remember where I saw it, but it was somewhere. Do you guys have any ideas why Leica's are so expensive?

Leicas are expensive for several reasons: