• A friendly and periodic reminder of the rules we use for fostering high SNR and quality conversation and interaction at Stormtrack: Forum rules

P.S. - Nothing specific happened to prompt this message! No one is in trouble, there are no flame wars in effect, nor any inappropriate conversation ongoing. This is being posted sitewide as a casual refresher.

Being Safe While Chasing

Matthew Reis

Enthusiast
Hello,

My name is Matthew Reis. I am a beginning storm chaser and an NWS Skywarn spotter. This is my first year for chasing storms. I plan on chasing storms that occur near my home; I don’t want to venture out too far since I am inexperienced.

I need advice on storm chasing safety, particularly lightning safety. How do you stay safe while you’re outside your vehicle to video and photograph the storm? How do you avoid being struck by lightning?

I am fascinated by lightning and I want to video and photograph it as much as possible. But I do not want to even risk getting hit. I’d appreciate any advice you could give me.

Thank you!

How do you stay safe while you’re outside your vehicle to video and photograph the storm? How do you avoid being struck by lightning?

I am fascinated by lightning and I want to video and photograph it as much as possible. But I do not want to even risk getting hit. I’d appreciate any advice you could give me.
Question 1: try not to be the only tall thing around you. And probably not best to stand under power lines while photographing.
Question 2: You don't really. I mean, if you get struck, you get struck. Not too much to avoid it unless you stay at a safe distance being as low to the ground as possible.

Its really the biggest risk we take while chasing. If the lightning gets really frequent and really serious, I try to stay in the car. I'll even set the tripod outside my car and site inside, just to play it safe.