3/26/2011 FCST: MS,AL,GA,TN

I'm surprised no one has started a forecast thread for Saturday. It seems to me that there is a possible real destructive severe threat. A warm front appears to be setting up in Northern MS and into Northern AL. Models seem to show that impressive helicity values (350+ m2/s2) could be present all along the warm front as well as isolated CAPE areas from 1500-2000 J/kg. SPC significant tornado parameters via the NAM also seem to be extremely high in the area of the warm front. Temperature gradients from this system could be insane with 20-30 degree gradients over very short distances. Supercells that fire may be more of a classic nature as well and not quite as HP as they usually are in this area. And since this is mainly a warm front tornado threat, supercells could end up training over the same areas.

I am still relatively new at forecasting, and I'm afraid I'm missing something, but to me this setup looks very promising and it has the potential makings of a very dangerous day in MS and AL particularly. The threat could also nudge its way into Southern TN if the warm front is a little further North. The severe threat may extend into Georgia during the night, but the dynamics will probably start dying off as the system gets that far East.

Thoughts from you more experienced Mets out there?

EHI parameters from the 51-hour NAM, valid 21Z Saturday. These values are pretty scary:
http://i168.photobucket.com/albums/u163/nexrad45/eta_ehi_51.gif

*Update, the SPC now has the area in a Day 2 30% hatched zone. This could easily turn into a MOD by the next update.

Last edited by a moderator: