1st time chasing resources

I am facing a new challenge for next year's chasing. A very close relative from Scotland wants to come over, visit me, and spend some time chasing with us through late April and all of May.

I have explained chasing in as graphic and non-sugar-coated terms as possible already to him - however I still feel I am lacking any good websites to point him towards to learn about chasing from a complete novice's viewpoint.

I am not so much thinking of websites that tell you how to forecast, explain supercell structure or tornado physics. I am more looking for pages that talk about what to expect from the chasing "lifestyle" - it's pros and cons, etc.

If anybody knows of any such links - I would really appreciate it if they could please post them here or forward them on to me. I have already sent my relative a few links including "Roger Edwards & Tim Vasquez's Storm Chasing FAQs".

Thanks!

KL

Hi there, this might help, it might not, but I am Secretary of TORRO (The Tornado and Storm Research Organisation) - UK based, and maybe your relative from Scotland might benefit from joining (if he's not a member already) as we have a private members forum with stats in and data but also we have the regular chat forums too and a storm chasing forum so he can talk to us who go chasing every year to your part of the world :) Just an idea (I'm not here to canvas members :)) But some of us chase in the UK too when the conditions are right and also it might be good for him to come to one of our conferences where he can ask any questions on the technical stuff or chasing in general. The forum though is the most excellent area for information and education.

Anyway if you fancy or if you have any questions please do email me/pm me. The website is www.torro.org.uk anyway :)

This is something I have rehearsed in my head for the times when someone 'new' to chasing is serious about wanting to go on a trip with me.