• A friendly and periodic reminder of the rules we use for fostering high SNR and quality conversation and interaction at Stormtrack: Forum rules

P.S. - Nothing specific happened to prompt this message! No one is in trouble, there are no flame wars in effect, nor any inappropriate conversation ongoing. This is being posted sitewide as a casual refresher.

10/14/2023 "Ring of Fire" Solar Eclipse

Hello all,
This is my first time viewing any sort of eclipse and I will say I was not disappointed. First time photographing anything like this and I'm and absolute amateur, but I tried my best, and they don't look horrible, so I'm counting this as a win. Photos taken near Orlando, FL.
I think the pictures are great. I'm very interested in your hardware--telescope or not, solar filter (looks like "yes"), and camera settings. I had a similar view through my Meade LX200 with solar filter, but no camera attachment, so my memory will have to serve....

In Tulsa we had a stratus/stratocumulus deck with some very brief breaks that occasionally afforded enough clarity to see the large sunspot visible in your pictures. Also, we expected at most 74% coverage at the peak of the eclipse. A recipe for a mediocre day.

But, the "cloudy"-filtering did make it possible to use my Z6. Here's a technically hideous picture, from an astronomical point of view, but...from an artistic point of view? that is up to the individual.

1697314097161.png

I think the pictures are great. I'm very interested in your hardware--telescope or not, solar filter (looks like "yes"), and camera settings. I had a similar view through my Meade LX200 with solar filter, but no camera attachment, so my memory will have to serve....

In Tulsa we had a stratus/stratocumulus deck with some very brief breaks that occasionally afforded enough clarity to see the large sunspot visible in your pictures. Also, we expected at most 74% coverage at the peak of the eclipse. A recipe for a mediocre day.