Very Basic Guide to HDR Photography and Tone Mapping (Photomatix)

I wrote this small tutorial for another thread, and thought I would copy it here as well in case it could help others. I am by no means an expert in HDR, and am just sharing my experiences. Others (Like Ryan McGinnis) could probably offer lots better help than I, and maybe will chime in on this thread. :)

So, here is a quick summary on HDR tone mapping. Please note that I won't go much into HDRs themselves, as I don't really do much with them. I don't think many do yet. Maybe once HDR monitors are more readily available.

What this summary covers is tone mapping HDR images to create a final JPG image. There are many ways and tools to create tone mapped images. I use Photomatix to do it. Others use Photoshop, or something like Dynamic Photo HDR. My primary motivation is to compress more shadow and highlight detail into a single consumable JPG image than would normally be there. I enjoy the artsy look that this gives, and it is kind of my style. :) Others like to create very contrasty images. To each their own. :)

The first step to creating a final image is to start with an HDR image. This requires having several images at different exposure levels. You can either do this by bracketing a single image at multiple exposures, or you can start with a single RAW file and pull multiple exposures out of it. I think you will generally get better results by bracketting multiple exposures, rather than using a single RAW. However, it is not always practical, especially if things in your scene are moving (like clouds, people, etc).