Unusually violent storm in the United Kingdom - analysis or comments please

Ian Hutton

Ok.. where to start.. I’m a farmer from the UK and yesterday I had THE single scariest experience I’ve had in long time – that of nearly being struck by lightning – lots and lots of times, with nowhere safe to go to. This storm was the most violent storm I have ever experienced in this country, and topped several storms I’ve seen in the USA as well. What I would like if possible is some more information / a detailed analysis about this bizarre storm – it is a rare event in the uk, so what caused it to randomly form and be so violent? How much danger was I really in / (i.e how lucky am I to still be here!!) how severe was this storm and how would you guys rate it (e.g 1 very severe, 10 mild) compared to the storms you guys chase and what on earth was the weird cloud formation as it the storm approached? I.e some more technical/ish information would be great. What follows is my experience, take as much or as little info as you need….

Background: we had some weak storms the previous night, not too violent with rumbling thunder, none came right over and from what I could see mostly sheet lightning. We have a low pressure system over the uk at the moment that has stalled and is spiraling, I’m in the south east where temperatures peak at about 23 degrees during the day. On the morning of the event the area I’m in is on a severe weather warning from the UK met office for severe heavy rain and flash flooding, no mention of lightning though.