Twister Tracker

If anyone has time I'd love some feedback on a little side project I've been working on for fun. I built a little web-app that allows you to view an estimated real-time location of a tornado based on NWS reports of location, bearing, and speed.

http://www.twistertracker.com (Home Page)

http://www.twistertracker.com/demo (Demo Warning)

I've been doing web development for about 10 years using Microsoft technologies (ASP.NET) but have recently wanted to learn Ruby on Rails so I thought this would be a good learning opportunity. The idea started out as a just a little prototype but as I continued building it out I enjoyed it so much I just kept going.

If anyone has any suggestions, ideas, criticisms, bugs, etc., I'd love to hear. I posted some more details below for anyone interested in knowing how it works in detail.

Details For Anyone Interested:

I have a cron job that runs every minute and pulls the latest national warning feed from the NWS. It parses these and stores them to a MySQL database for display on the site. If the NWS issues an update on a warning it will plot that updated location along with a new tracking line if they changed the bearing or speed of the storm. It also pushes all new tornado warnings to a twitter feed as well.

I created a mobile stylesheet so the site looks decent on an Android or iPhone. I'm toying around with the idea of some "pro" features if there is interest from people on me building this out more. I have one already where it will plot your current location (if you have GPS on your phone) on the warning details page. If anyone is going to be out chasing this next system (Sun-Tue) PM me and I can upgrade your account and you can let me know how it works.