Tornado Warning Problems

rdale

EF5
As much as we talk about tornado emergency and well-drawn polygons -- our info is only as good as the people who relay that to the public... NWS Cleveland issued a Tornado Warning for Lucas County (Toledo) and Ottawa County. The polygon was well drawn east of Toledo, for a storm 16 miles east and moving east. The pathcast said that the tornado will remain over rural areas.

Toledo sounded their sirens.

Several thousand fans at a baseball game were 'attempted' to be herded into a basement. Chrsyler / Jeep plants kept their lines going while their workers wondered if they needed to evacuate.

And the reason was -- it's better to be safe than sorry.

Sheez...

I had a similar situation arise a few years ago when I worked in a factory. Apparently there was a confirmed tornado on the ground about 5 miles to our southwest, but they decided to wait to shelter anyone while the "guard" watched out his window to see if it was coming our way. It ended up moving about a mile to our south, so production was in no way interupted. Ridiculous.

You have a very good point there rdale :)

I would hate to think of how many false alarms that are given out, or how many times that a buisness hasn't taken a warning seriously because of wanting to keep the buisness or production lines going as long and uninterrupted as possible.

I think that the false alarms scenario can be reduced by better training of local spotters, in knowing the difference between low level scud and a funnel/tornado.

As reguards the buisness production scenario during tornado warnings, is simply down to greed and lack of value for human life, the way I see it is, if there's any severe weather in the area, then the safety of other people should always come first, reguardless of what kind of buisness that it is, simply because money can be replaced, but a human life can't.