Software Piracy Crack-Downs!

cdcollura

EF5
Good day all,

All of us need to be wary of counterfeited, pirated, or down-right stolen software.

Yes, I am guily of this in the past - In the pre 2000 "Napster days", but being a computer programmer myself, I have shied away - Paying the price and BUYING it to support both the economy and people like myself (who hate losing their jobs).

I have a very old copy of Windows XP Pro, that a deceased friend gave me back in 2003. I have been using it for years, and automatic updates and such worked (using the new "Genuine Validation" tool).

I had bad woes with getting used to Vista, so I have a dedicated OS 500 GB drive split in two for dual boot, running the XP Pro on one partition, with all my programs, and the new 64 Vist Ultimate, which I bought this week, on the other for testing / new programs. This solution works great.

Last night, I do the automatic updates for SP3 on XP Pro and the validation fails. I only installed this on my laptop last week, and it worked.

I went back to the laptop, validated, and XP Pro on it also failed. The copy my friend gave me was either stolen / boot-legged. I was furious.

I went to Microsoft's site, paid $149 bucks, and got a valid key for XP Pro, fair-and-square. After that, all was well on both the partition and laptop (genuine validation / updates).

The word here is to be very careful. Same goes for downloading music - Just pay the darn 99 cents - why even bother anymore?

Here are some points about downloading / aqcuiring software...

1). Downloading programs, 99% of the time now-a-days will only give you partially-functional code, viruses, or all of the above.

2). Major software compaies, like Microsoft, are cracking down on illegal / non genuine versions. They have steps in place so if you have a botched version it is either de-activated or updates / support denied.